2. 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY


Price(USD): $19.80

CD No: WTM39515
Release Date: 2018/08/24
Format: 1CD

The Rhino version of 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY includes the original movie music in the order in which it appeared in the movie, along with extra material including the Sudwesfunk Orchestra's version of 'Thus Spake Zarathustra,' which appear on MGM's original soundtrack but not in the film. Includes liner notes by Robert C. Cumbow. In addition to the classical pieces popularized by Stanley Kubrick's science-fiction watershed, which include recordings of Also Sprach Zarathrustra and The Blue Danube, the film's soundtrack includes the latter-day compositions of Gyorgy Ligeti and a montage of dialogue taken from the Hal 9000, the movie's sentient computer. ~ Jason Ankeny
Release Date: 2018/8/17

Track List

1. Atmospheres - Gyorgy Ligeti
2. Prelude (Sonnenaufgang) - Also sprach Zarathustra, Op. 30, Trv 176 - Richard Strauss
3. Requiem For Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano, Two Mixed Choirs & Orchestra - Gyorgy Ligeti
4. An der schonen blauen Donau, Op. 314 (The Blue Danube) - John Strauss II
5. Lux aeterna - Gyorgy Ligeti
6. Gayaneh's Adagio (Gayane Ballet Suite) - Aram Il'yich Khachaturian
7. Aventures - Gyorgy Ligeti