2. THE SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW: The Deluxe Edition (2CD)


Price(USD): $39.90

Release Date: 2021/03/20
Format: 2CD

One of Jerry Goldsmith’s final film scores comes to the CD Club in a long-awaited Deluxe Edition: Along Came a Spider (2001), Paramount Pictures’ second film adaptation of James Patterson’s Alex Cross thriller novels, although taken from the first book. Morgan Freeman reprised his role as Cross (from Kiss the Girls), teaming up with Monica Potter as a Secret Service agent in search of a U.S. Senator’s daughter, who is kidnapped by a twisted adversary.

Goldsmith reteamed with New Zealand-born director Lee Tamahori, for whom he scored The Edge (1997), and provided a tense, taut score in his thriller wheelhouse. From his earliest days scoring television, to 1970s landmarks like Capricorn One and Coma, to the granddaddy of the 1990s sex thrillers, Basic Instinct, no composer was as fluent or effective with the thriller genre as Goldsmith. By 2001, the composer had modernized and refined his suspense style to the point where there was not a single wasted note. Along Came a Spider pulses and twitches with uneasy throbs, lurching into orchestral action for moments of shock and violence, and nobly sets a powerful French horn theme (for the forces of good) against a brooding tapestry of darkness?all while the clock ticks away on a young victim’s life.

Released as a 35-minute CD by Varese Sarabande at the time of the film, Along Came a Spider is expanded for the Deluxe Edition to the complete 64-minute score, in film sequence. A bonus track of outtakes (including Goldsmith’s chit-chat on the scoring stage) is curated by Goldsmith’s longtime friend, recording engineer and album producer Bruce Botnick. Limited to 1,500 copies. --- * Excerpt from the label

Track List

Disc One (Film Mixes):
1. Main Title (From The Motion Picture The Serpent And The Rainbow) (4:10)
2. Buried Alive (1:15)
3. Out Of Jungle (2:24)
4. Vision (2:15)
5. Question Montage (1:14)
6. Into Graveyard (1:01)
7. Christophe (2:45)
8. Pigs In A Hotel/Goat (1:09)
9. Procession/Dream (4:20)
10. Love Scene (2:08)
11. Dragged Into Office (1:00)
12. Crone In Grave/Door (:44)
13. Dennis Dumped (:52)
14. Powder Making (1:51)
15. Nightmare (2:18)
16. Head Bed (:52)
17. Leaving Haiti (1:21)
18. Mozart Leaves (:31)
19. Back To Haiti (1:07)
20. Airport Grab (:32)
21. Dennis Powdered (3:11)
22. No, No, No Rest (2:07)
23. Digging Out Grave (2:31)
24. Revolution (3:51)
25. Battle For Souls (3:00)
26. Nailed (2:25)
27. End Credits Theme (From The Motion Picture The Serpent
And The Rainbow) (5:13)

Disc Two (Original Soundtrack):
1. Main Title (From The Motion Picture The Serpent And The Rainbow) (3:49)
2. Revolution (3:52)
3. Battle For Souls (2:59)
4. Nightmare (2:15)
5. Love Scene (2:06)
6. Dennis Powered (3:10)
7. Nailed (2:26)
8. Procession (2:28)
9. Jungle Vision (1:17)
10. Leaving Haiti (1:21)
11. Out Of Jungle (2:25)
12. Powder Making (1:50)
13. Back To Haiti (1:07)
14. Christophe (2:47)
15. Question Montage (1:15)
16. Dragged Into Office (1:01)
17. Dennis Dumped (:54)
18. End Credits Theme (From The Motion Picture The Serpent And The Rainbow) (5:13)
19. Erzuli† (3:26)
20. Wedding† (2:38)
21. Procession (with vocal)† (3:52)
22. Making The Power†* (2:44)
23. Mozart’s Beheading†* (2:44)
24. Love Theme†* (2:59)
25. End Credits†* (3:39)

Music Composed by Brad Fiedel

*Composed by Michael Babatunde Olatunji
†Disc Two Tracks 19?25 Performed by Michael Babatunde Olatunji