Price(USD): $62.50

CD No: VCL-0608-1978
Release Date:
Format: 1CD

OUT OF PRINT CD. Varese Sarabande Club release. Limited Edition of 1500 copies!
One of the major holes in Franz Waxman's discography is filled at last with the release of his stunning score for 20th Century Fox's 1952 drama My Cousin Rachel.

Olivia de Havilland and Richard Burton star in this adaptation of Daphne du Maurier's gothic novel. In a reversal of Jane Eyre, it is the hero who arrives at the home of a mysterious woman. Rachel (de Havilland) is the widow of a Cornish man of property (John Sutton), who died in suspicious circumstances. Philip Ashley Burton is the dead man's cousin, who in probing his relative's demise immediately suspects Rachel and goes on suspecting her even after he falls in love with her. Going against the inheritance laws of the era, Burton turns over his cousin's estate to Rachel, but she refuses his entreaties of marriage. He soon falls ill, and it is whispered that Rachel has poisoned him.

Waxman's surging score is a powerhouse and one of his classics. It is, in many ways, a companion piece to his magnificent Rebecca, also based on a novel by Daphne du Maurier.

Golden Age fans rejoice! A landmark of the era is here!

Track List

1. Main Title (2:23)
2. Pie Break (1:22)
3. Crossroads (1:51)
4. Bells (1:23)
5. Crossroads 2 (1:30)
6. The Caretaker (3:23)
7. Leaving Rinaldi's Office (1:33)
8. Countryside (3:38)
9. Philip Smokes Pipe / Philip And Louise (3:31)
10. Rachel At The Fireplace (4:38)
11. Christmas Eve (1:14)
12. Philip's Room (2:06)
13. Rachel Turns And Goes (3:30)
14. There Are Some Good Women (4:28)
15. Rachel Rises (2:19)
16. Philip Rushes Out Of The Church (6:47)
17. Philip Sits At The Window (5:25)
18. Philip Moves Away (1:25)
19. You Drink It / Finale (6:09)