Price(USD): $22.50

CD No: SWR-14008
Release Date: 2014/12/23
Format: 1CD

Screamworks Records announces the CD release of Arnau Bataller’s acclaimed score for The Brotherhood (La hermandad), previously released in digital format online by the same label. The moody Spanish thriller written and directed by Julio Marti. The film tells the story of Sara (Lydia Bosch), a successful horror author who survives an accident just outside a secluded Benedictine monastery in northern Italy. Even though she should stay in bed, Sara soon finds intriguing secrets about the monastery: strange stains on the ceiling, an infant crying in the night, an old photograph and a chilling book on the Brotherhood and their disturbing customs… Screamworks Records releases the chilling, religiously inspired score digitally to coincide with the film’s Spanish premiere on 21 March 2014 and is now excited to announce the CD release of the album to meet the fan demand.

Spanish composer Arnau Bataller originally studied to play the violin and got a degree on the instrument in 1998 then he decided to specialize in film music, studying the art form at the prestigious University of Southern California. Since graduating in 2002, Arnau had worked on countless American and Spanish projects, including Jose Luis Aleman’s H.P. Lovecraft inspired horror films The Valdemar Legacy (2010) and La Herencia Valdemar II: La Sombra Prohibida (2010) also available from MovieScore Media. The Brotherhood marks the Bataller’s second collaboration with Julio Marti after La victoria de Ursula (2011).

Performed by Barcelona’s Liceu Opera House Symphony and Choir in their first ever film score recording, Bataller’s music for The Brotherhood combines dark textures (orchestral effects and electronics) with a more thematic approach characterized by the evocative choral writing inspired by the story’s religious setting. As the composer explains his approach: “Even though The Brotherhood is a horror/thriller, the director insisted on having a strong theme which I could develop in different directions as our protagonist, Sara learns more about the disturbing secrets of The Brotherhood.” -MOVIESCORE MEDIA

CD available while quantities and interest remain.

Release date of December 23.

Track List

1 Main Titles 2:50
2 Discovering the Past 2:07
3 First Departure 4:48
4 I Have Heard Children 2:21
5 Eli's Book 3:30
6 There Are Children 1:53
7 Investigations 4:12
8 Isolated 3:32
9 Get Them! 2:55
10 My Daughter 4:10
11 It Can't Be 3:35
12 The Confession 6:18
13 The Brotherhood 3:57