2. DOCTOR WHO: THE SUN MAKERS (Limited Orange Vinyl Edition)

DOCTOR WHO: THE SUN MAKERS (Limited Orange Vinyl Edition)

Price(USD): $32.80

Label: SILVA
CD No: SILLP1569
Release Date: 2023/08/18
Format: 1LP

Fifth in a collectible set of Eight Doctor Who Story Releases
Limited Coloured Vinyl Edition
Original TV Soundtrack by Dudley Simpson
Gatefold Sleeve by Clayton Hickman

Originally released on black vinyl in May 2020, there is a very limited number of orange vinyl available, part of an edition originally produced exclusively for the German market.
The Sun Makers (written by Robert Holmes) aired in November and December of 1977 with Tom Baker as the Doctor and is set on a tax-crippled planet Pluto. Along with trusty assistant Leela and faithful K9, he exposes the corrupt Company, defeating the Collector and freeing the population from financial misery.
Composer Dudley Simpson (1922-2017) wrote prolifically for the BBC, producing hundreds of soundtracks for Doctor Who, The Tomorrow People, Blake’s Seven and many others. The Sun Makers was scored for just six musicians and recorded, for the main part, live in the studio. However, such is the musicianship of the players, several of whom where multi-instrumentalists, the resulting sound is much bigger. The sleeve includes full notes by Mark Ayres.

ATTN: Shipping charge for 4 discs applied

Track List

Side 1
1. Doctor Who Opening Title Theme
2. Death and Taxes
3. Mahogany
4. One Thousand Metres
5. Six Suns
6. The?Others
7. Subway 13
8. Subway 13 (Continued)
9. A Heart as Big as your Mouth
10. A Little Hop
11. Jelly Babies
12. Something in?the?Air
13. K9, Bite!
14. Humbug
15. The?P45 Return Route

Side 2
1. The?P45 Return Route (Reprise)
2. Morton's Fork
3. I’ve Heard That One, Too
4. The?Rebellion Begins
5. Static Loop
6. The?Steaming
7. The?Steaming Continued
8. Gentlemen, Good Luck
9. Nobody Works Today
10. The?Gatherer Excised
11. Doctor Who Closing Title Theme (53" Version)