2. DOCTOR WHO - Series 13 THE SPECIALS (3CD)


Price(USD): $23.50

Label: SILVA
CD No: SILCD1705
Release Date: 2023/01/13
Format: 3CD

Silva Screen Records will release the eagerly awaited Doctor Who Series 13 The Specials on 13th January 2023.

The 2022 Doctor Who specials are the three additional episodes that follow the programme's thirteenth series. The first special, Eve Of The Daleks, aired on 1 January 2022, the second, Legend of the Sea Devils, aired on 17 April and the third, The Power Of The Doctor on 23 October. They are the final episodes to feature Jodie Whittaker as the Thirteenth Doctor. The specials also star Mandip Gill and John Bishop as the Doctor's travelling companions, Yasmin Khan and Dan Lewis. Chris Chibnall is the showrunner and the writer. All Series 13 episodes, together with the 3 specials, are currently available to watch on BBC iPlayer in the UK.

Chris Chibnall reflects on Segun’s work - “How do I sum up Segun’s contribution to ‘Doctor Who’, and the Thirteenth Doctor’s era, in a few words?... I only need one: brilliant! Segun made the show’s musical landscape wide-ranging, specific and authentic. The scores for these three Specials illustrate that breadth perfectly. From the witty but emotional jazz-infused chamber piece of Eve Of The Daleks, through the beautiful and powerful use of traditional Chinese instrumentation in Legend Of The Sea Devils, culminating with The Power of The Doctor: a fitting climax to Segun’s work on the show - bringing together so many of the fabulous themes he’s created: from Daleks and Cybermen to the Master, Yaz, and the Thirteenth Doctor’s wondrous heroic and emotive theme.”

Segun scored Sundance 2019 favourite The Last Tree, which was also recorded at Abbey Road Studios. This is Segun’s second feature film collaboration with director Shola Amoo after A Moving Image, and it earned him a Discovery of the Year award nomination at the World Soundtrack Awards. A BAFTA Breakthrough Brit 2017, Segun’s other work includes scoring BBC Two’s landmark four-part series Black and British: A Forgotten History.

Also available Segun Akinola’s scores Doctor Who Series 11, Doctor Who Series 12 and Doctor Who Series 3.

Doctor Who Series 13 - The Specials brings together the end of an era for Jodie Whittaker as Doctor Who and also composer Segun Akinola as they both leave the long running programme. This release features the music for Eve Of The Daleks, Legend Of The Sea Devils and the grand finale The Power Of the Doctor.
Doctor Who show runner Chris Chibnall has paid tribute to composer Segun’s incredible contribution to the series, “Segun made the show’s musical landscape wide-ranging, specific and authentic. In doing so, he’s enlarged what’s possible musically on the show, while bringing in some of the most respected specialist players in the world for these recordings. It’s been a phenomenal workload and a phenomenal achievement”.

Segun Akinola signs off on his four year journey through the Doctor Who universe, “The Series Thirteen Specials are exactly that: special! From Daleks and time-loops to seafaring pirates in China, there are scares, laughs, moments for romance and so much more. All of which leads to the grand farewell for Jodie Whittaker’s Doctor in the centenary special, and also for me as my last episode of ‘Doctor Who’. I wanted it to be a celebration of every series I’ve worked on so there are themes and sounds from series eleven right through to thirteen.”

Track List

Disc One

01. Here We Are Again
02. Out Of Service
03. I Am Not Nick
04. Deja Vu
05. The Correction
06. Sorry Sorry Sorry
07. Not A Great Plan
08. Took You Long Enough
09. We Will Not Stop
10. We Go Again and We Win
11. The Doctor Cannot Save You
12. A Brilliant Plan
13. Important Stuff to Do
14. Fireworks

Disc Two

01. You Have No Idea What You’re Doing
02. Catching a Whopper
03. Pirate Queen
04. Who Wants to Be Next?
05. Celestial Navigation
06. Going Up
07. Say Hello to My Crew
08. This Is Gonna Be Tricky
09. A Good Legend

Disc Three

01. You Shall Not Disrupt Our Mission
02. We Should Go In
03. Why Would I Ever Trust You?
04. Dealing with Multiple Somethings
05. Magnificent Attention to Detail
06. A Calculated Risk
07. Say Hello to My Friends
08. I Am The Doctor
09. We Are Not Finished
10. What’s The Plan?
11. Reunite
12. All Hands On Deck
13. Activate Everything
14. She’s The Doctor