Price(USD): $38.90

CD No: RBCP-5766
Release Date: 2023/02/24
Format: 2CD

The premiere release of the complete score by Harold Faltermeyer (BEVERLY HILLS COP, TOP GUN, FLETCH, TANGO AND CASH) for Douglas Day Stewart’s 1984 sexual, romantic drama-thriller THIEF OF HEARTS, starring Steven Bauer, Barbara Williams and John Getz. The film is about a woman trapped in a boring marriage who begins an affair with a handsome man who seems able to read her mind. She doesn’t know that he has broken into her house and read her diaries, in which she has recorded her deepest thoughts and fantasies.

Harold Faltermeyer provided an intense, romantic and suspenseful electronic score, varied and rhythmic. The composer also wrote and produced several pop songs for the film, and arranged the original song “Thief of Hearts,” composed by Giorgio Moroder and performed by Melissa Manchester, which was a huge hit in its single version.

The popular THIEF OF HEARTS soundtrack album was released by MCA on LP and CD and reissued several times over the years, although in its 40-minute length it included only the five songs and five score cues specifically arranged for the album. This limited 2-CD edition from Quartet Records includes, for the first time, the complete score composed and recorded by Faltermeyer for the film, and also the remastered MCA album, unused cues, demos, and alternate versions of both score and songs. A treat for all fans of 80s synth sound!

Meticulously produced by Dan Goldwasser and mastered by Doug Schwartz, the 20-page full color package includes in-depth liner notes by film music writer Daniel Schweiger.
Limited 1500 copies
(*Non-Japanese made disc)

Track List

1. The Dream 5:36
2. Alice Hangs Up 1:58
3. Keep a Cool Head / Main Title** 2:35
4. Prowler in the Woods** 0:49
5. Ginny Gets Followed*† 0:38
6. Ralph Gets Cursed** 1:44
7. Looking for Muffin**† 1:01
8. Jeff and Sandy Sneak Off to Camp Blood 0:55
9. The Chase / The Sheriff Visits Villa Jason**† 2:08
10. Terry in the Lake / Scott’s Out / Terry Finds Scott 2:46
11. Vickie Gets Ready / Mark Meets Jason**† 2:12
12. Jeff and Sandy Get a Visit from Guess Who?** 1:16
13. Vickie Visits Jeff, Sandy, and You Know Who** 1:35
14. Paul and Ginny Meet Jason 3:49
15. Ragtop, Running Ragged / Ginny Under Bed** 3:38
16. Chairman of the Boards** 0:52
17. Ginny Pays a Visit to Chez Jason 5:33
18. Who’s at the Door? / Jason Pops In **† 2:01
19. Return to Chez Jason 0:37

20. The Dream Bed (Complete)* 1:06
21. Ralph Gets Cursed (w/o Flanger)* 1:11
22. Rock + Roll Source #1 (Mono)** 3:36
23. Rock + Roll Source #2 (Mono)* 4:21
24. Rock + Roll Source #3 (Mono)* 4:38
25. Harmonica Source**† 2:11
26. Random Dissolves* 1:02
27. Random Dissolves (no Brass, Mono)* 1:22
28. Title Buttons (Mono)* 0:24

* previously unreleased
** contains previously unreleased material
† not used in film