Price(USD): $30.50

CD No: RBCP-5669
Release Date: 2022/02/02
Format: 1CD

A limited edition, world-premiere CD release of composers Johann Johannsson (SICARIO, THEORY OF EVERYTHING) and Jonas Colstrup’s (TIGERS, VILLAGE AT THE END OF THE WORLD) original motion picture soundtrack to the award-winning 2018 crime thriller THE SHADOW PLAY, directed by LOU Ye (SUMMER PALACE, SUZHOU RIVER). Based on real incidents that happened in Guangzhou and set against the backdrop of 30-year economic expansion, the film is a tragic epic of contemporary China. This is the third collaboration between director Lou and composer Johannsson, after the success of MYSTERY (2012) and BLIND MASSAGE (2014). The theme of the score is developed and reconstructed from “Walk in the Dark”, an unused cue from BLIND MASSAGE. The entire score is an industrial chapter that blurs the boundary between music and sound.

This release is based on the initial 2019 LP program and re-edited and sequenced with the help and the supervision from composer Jonas Colstrup. The album is mixed and mastered by score engineer Thomas Eberger in Sweden, with in-depth liner notes by Xinkai Sun based on his interview with the composer, and a new cover art designed by Johannsson’s longtime collaborating designer/musician Anders Ladegaard from Denmark.

This is a limited edition of 600 units, with gold stamping numbering.
(Imported/ *Non Japan made disc)

Track List

01. The Shadow Play 04:55
02. Asylum for the Sane 01:00
03. Be Over 01:39
04. Dissipation of Clouds 01:18
05. Be Forgotten 01:37
06. Midnight Highway 04:58
07. Fugitive of a Narrative 01:36
08. Reasonable Doubt 00:56
09. Desolation and Destitution 01:34
10. Alibi 02:03
11. Gold of Violet and Black 01:02
12. Truth on the Other End 00:57
13. The Play 04:11
14. The Shadow (aka Walk in the Dark) 08:25