2. THEATRE OF BLOOD (180gm Vinyl)

THEATRE OF BLOOD (180gm Vinyl)

Price(USD): $32.80

Release Date: 2023/11/10
Format: 1LP

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the 1973 cult classic THEATRE OF BLOOD, Quartet Records, in collaboration with MGM, presents the first-ever LP edition of the ICONIC Michael J. Lewis’ score!

Directed by Douglas Hickox and starring Vincent Price and Diana Rigg, with guest victims Ian Hendry, Harry Andrews, Robert Morley, Michael Hordern and Jack Hawkins, among others, the film is a macabre British black comedy about a Shakespearean actor who is systematically humiliated by critics who consider him hammy and old-fashioned. The actor becomes a serial killer and murders every critic by emulating the sadistic crimes in Shakespeare’s plays.

Michael J. Lewis (SPHINX, THE MADWOMAN OF CHAILLOT, THE NAKED FACE, THE MEDUSA TOUCH) composed a delightful score, with a catchy, charming main theme that is opposed to the brutality of the story. Contrasting strains of old-fashioned lyricism and modern soundscapes frame a score of great stylistic diversity.

Even though THEATRE OF BLOOD was a success?and has become even more widely admired over the last half-century?no commercial album of the full soundtrack existed until 2010, when the score made its debut on CD by La-La Land Records. The program has now been freshly mastered specially for vinyl and re-sequenced for a better listening experience, as it would have been had it been released in 1973.

This limited edition of 500 units, pressed on audiophile 180 GM blood-red-and-black splatter, has been produced, restored and mastered by Chris Malone from the original stereo master tapes.--- from label

Please note for shipping purposes this counts as 5 discs

Track List


1. Main Title (2:46)

2. Oh Pardon Me, Thou Bleeding Piece Of Earth / Ides Of March (5:20)

3. Fear No More The Heat Of The Sun / Alive In Triumph / The Dragon Wing Of Night (5:48)

4. Here Clarence Comes / Friends, Romans, Countrymen / Cymbeline (5:40)

5. Master Of The Killing Phrase / To Be Or Not To Be / Fugato (4:24)


1. Edwinais Theme (2:28)

2. Where Are My Doggy Woggies? / Now Is The Winter Of Our Discontent / I’m So Glad Youive Come (6:05)

3. Sexy Lips And Swinging Hips / A Pound Of Flesh / The Trojan Trail (2:36)

4. Come Fire, Consume This Petty World (7:19)

5. Partita Of Blood / He Did Know How To Make An Exit (3:40)