Price(USD): $22.80

CD No: QR515
Release Date: 2023/05/27
Format: 1CD

Quartet Records, in collaboration with Paramount Pictures, presents the premiere release of the Ken Thorne dynamic western score for the Rachel Welch vehicle HANNIE CAULDER (1971)

Directed by Burt Kennedy, HANNIE CAULDER tells the story of a heroine (Rachel Welch) who seeks vengeance on three horrible brutes who raped her. She enlists the help of bounty hunter Thomas Luther Price (Robert Culp) and gunsmith Bailey (Christopher Lee) to learn how to be a master sharpshooter who has a chance against the notorious Clemens brothers.

The score composed by Ken Thorne (SINFUL DAVEY, INSPECTOR CLOUSEAU, SUPERMAN II, SUPERMAN III) complements the film’s wide variety of influences, from the rugged sounds of the Southern setting to evocative montages of Hannie’s development and fierce action cues for the various raids. With a handful of brutally dissonant passages as well as comedic cues thrown in, HANNIE CAULDER is a colorful, Coplandesque offering that will surely enchant all fans of the genre. The program is rounded out by the theme song “Life Never Is Easy” performed by Bobby Hanna.

An intended LP mock-up was previously released on an unauthorized promotional mono CD. This premiere CD includes the complete score?almost entirely in expansive stereo?restored and mastered by Chris Malone from pristine master tapes vaulted at Paramount. The lavishly illustrated 12-page liner notes by Gergely Hubai discuss the film and the score with a cue-by-cue breakdown, explaining every step of the rebuilding process. Limited edition: 1000 units

Track List

1. Main Title / Bank Raid (3:42)

2. Chase From Bank (1:31)

3. Caulder Killed / Rape Of Hannie (1:46)

4. Hannie Leaves (2:34)

5. Hannie Takes Gun (1:22)

6. Thomas Rejects Hannie (1:37)

7. Mexican Chase (0:38)

8. Riding To Town (1:18)

9. Hannie Takes Bath (0:51)

10. Riding To Mexico (2:41)

11. Thomas And Bailey Talk (1:32)

12. Gun Montage (1:50)

13. Preacher Visits (1:32)

14. Beach Scene (2:24)

15. Mexican Raid (2:20)

16. Hannie Shoots Bandit (1:01)

17. Quitting Ranch (1:51)

18. Brothers Into Town (1:10)

19. Shotting Thomas (1:16)

20. Death Of Thomas (2:06)

21. Killing Of Frank / Killing Of Rufus / Old Prison / Killing Of Emmett (2:17)

22. Finale (1:16)

23. Life’s Never Peaceful (2:07)

Bonus Tracks

24. Saloon Band (2:17)

25. Rape Of Hannie (Alternate) (1:17)

26. Finale And End Title (Orchestral Version) (2:07)

27. Hannie Takes Bath (Alternate) (0:50)

28. Mexican Raid (Alternate) (2:21)

29. Finale And End Title (Film Version) (2:10)