Price(USD): $21.90

Label: MovieScore Media(SW)
CD No: MMS23019
Release Date: 2023/11/07
Format: 1CD

Original score from the 2022 historical drama television series directed by Eleonore Faucher, starring Guillaume Arnault, Claire Duburcq and Helene de Fougerolles, produced by Storia Television and released by France 2 (FR2) (France).

THE STORY: Provence, 1847. The son of a wealthy landowner in the south of France, Jean-Baptiste, loses his mother in a tragic accident. His truculent father takes a harlot he met a few months earlier as his new bride. Soon after, Jean-Baptiste is falsely accused by his “stepmother” of trying to take advantage of her. Jean-Baptiste’s only solution is to live with Blanche, his mother’s sister, in the mountains. When he meets Lila, the daughter of a couple of healers and water diviners, it is love at first sight. But Jean-Baptiste’s happiness is overrun in the tumult of Provence’s rebellion against Louis-Napoleon Bonaparte’s coup d’etat.

THE SCORE: “For this new drama series set in a historical context, I began composing very early in the process, even before the shooting commenced. I sent Eleonore Faucher, the director, several musical proposals for the main title and character themes. She emphasized the need for a romantic, lyrical, and classical touch regarding the main title. Above all, it should incorporate a dramatic theme that drives the story. In the score, I employed numerous leitmotifs to reflect the dramatic evolution of the various characters, transitioning from romantic cues to intense, emotional moments.” ? Cyrille Aufort

THE COMPOSER: Cyrille Aufort started composing music for the theatre, short films and animation films before working extensively in the cinema. While working as an orchestrator for Alexandre Desplat, Aufort’s first major composing credit was Vincenzo Natali’s DNA-based sci-fi horror Splice, starring Adrien Brody and Sarah Polley. In 2012, Aufort and Gabriel Yared co-composed the score for A Royal Affair, the historical drama starring Alicia Vikander and Mads Mikkelsen. His more recent credits include Yann Gozlan’s A Perfect Man, Avi Nesher’s Past Life as well as the new Arctic-themed documentaries of Luc Jacquet: The Ice and the Sky and March of the Penguins 2: The Next Step, which won the Award for Best Original Music Emmy in the Mini Series, Film or Special category and a Hollywood Music in Media Award for Best Original Documentary Music. His latest releases with the label is the documentary Nepal and the television movie La maladroite.

Official CD-R pressings

Track List

01 And the Mountain Will Flourish 02:36
02 Sosthene Is Alone 01:59
03 Meeting Seraphine 03:49
04 Jean-Baptiste's Journey 03:06
05 Lila and Jean-Baptiste 02:21
06 No Hope 01:04
07 Blanche's House 01:11
08 Gaspard 01:09
09 Jean-Baptiste In Jail 01:36
10 In the Eye of the Storm 02:01
11 Agathe Marie the Herbalist 01:26
12 Love Letter 02:17
13 Barn Fire 02:06
14 Cholera 01:54
15 Alexandrine Comes Back 01:52
16 Sound the Alarm 02:27
17 Bye Titou 01:23
18 I Won't Surrender 01:24
19 The Hanging 01:44
20 Lila 02:00
21 Haircut 01:06
22 Back to the Provencal Farmstead 02:06