2. 1864 (TV Score)

1864 (TV Score)

Price(USD): $22.50

CD No: MMS-14044
Release Date: 2014/12/16
Format: 1CD

Oscar nominated composer Marco Beltrami’s score for the epic television series 1864 is being released on CD and digitally by prolific quality soundtrack label MovieScore Media. The year marked a dramatic turning point in the history of Denmark with the battle of Dybbol? 150 years later the national tragedy is commemorated by an epic eighthour long miniseries created by top Danish filmmaker Ole Bornedal. The most expensive Scandinavian production to date features extensive battle recreations (filmed in the Czech Republic) and a touching story about two brothers cast in the bloodiest battle of the country’s history. The Scandinavian coproduction receives its majestic musical support from frequent Bornedal collaborator Marco Beltrami, one of the busiest and most creative composers working in Hollywood today.

Following his groundbreaking score for Scream, Beltrami became the most reliable genre composer following the adventures of alien invaders (The Faculty), vampires (Blade II), ghosts (The Woman in Black) and zombies (World War Z). He is frequently trusted with scoring the most valuable Hollywood properties: he worked on the remakes of The Omen, The Thing and Carrie, but he also took over from Michael Kamen on the last two Die Hard movies. Beltrami’s regular filmmaking partners include Wes Craven (Scream 14, Dracula 2000), Guillermo del Toro (Mimic, Hellboy), James Mangold (3:10 to Yuma, The Wolverine) and Tommy Lee Jones (The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada, The Homesman).

''I feel a dark kindred spirit with Ole and his pictures inspire me deeply'' explains the composer about his working relationship with the director (previous credits together include Deep Water, I Am Dina and Vikaren). The selection on this CD includes the best hour’s worth of material from over 220 minutes of music developed for the project. The program includes great moments of patriotism ('Off to Service', 'We Are Danes'), fierce cues for the battle ('The Hussars Are Coming'), mournful compositions for reflection on the senseless violence ('Tears') and of course peaceful, pastoral moments ('Lakeside') that show Denmark as the land of plentiful natural treasures we all wish to remember. The score fetures the performance of the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra. -MOVIESCORE MEDIA

CD available while quantities and interest remain.

Track List

1 1864 2:32
2 Opening 1:07
3 An Inevitable War 3:00
4 Lakeside 3:18
5 Bloody Hands 2:50
6 Clouds 2:38
7 Off to Service 1:54
8 Confronting Laust 1:56
9 A Dangerous Man 3:32
10 The Hussars Are Coming 5:22
11 Overhelmed 1:39
12 Der Friend Is Der Friend 3:16
13 We Are Danes! 1:56
14 Bombs 3:38
15 Tears 2:26
16 The Return of Laust 2:54
17 The Beginning of the End 2:44
18 The Letters 2:02
19 Can't Handle the Truth 3:23
20 Inge's Tears 2:05
21 Coming Home 2:43
22 Finale 2:04