Normal Price (USD): $99.90
Sale Price (USD): $89.70
OFF $10.20 (10%)

CD No: ISC-348
Release Date: 2016/03/01
Format: 3CD

OUT OF PRINT CD. World premiere 3-CD release of music from 1980's revival of classic Rod Serling TV series, featuring fantastic work from composers Basil Poledouris, Christopher Young, Craig Safan, Fred Steiner, Dennis McCarthy, William Goldstein, Elliot Kaplan, Arthur Kempel, J.A.C. Redford, Kenneth Wannberg! Taking reins for new CBS series was Philip DeGuere, directors included Wes Craven, John Milius, William Friedkin, supervising music was Robert Drasnin, who worked on original series. Format offered multiple stories of varying lengths within each episode. Christopher Young features on two brief scores, ''A Small Talent For War'', ''A Matter Of Minutes'', both with complex scores featuring chimes, orchestra bells, intense piano, percussion. Basil Poledouris contributed four lengthier scores with ''A Message From Charity'' featuring 20-piece orchestra with harpsichord, beautiful lyricism standing out, ''Monsters!'' featuring meld of rhythmic energy, gentle nostalgia, ''Profile In Silver'' unfolding with darker, intense undertones, ''Song Of The Younger World'' offering several colors ranging from sensitive woodwind colors to dramatic brass material. Craig Safan provides music for seven shows, ranging from jazz-influenced ''Dead Woman's Shoes'' to exotic mystery of ''Wong's Lost And Found Emporium'' with cello over harp and piano, from airy floating music of ''Opening Day'' to ''To See The Invisible Man.'' J.A.C. Redford offers strongly melodic music for ''What Are Friends For?'' featuring vast array of woodwinds plus horn, harp. Fred Steiner gives ''A Day In Beaumont'' degree of old-fashioned color and jaunty pace (Steiner also worked on original series). Dennis McCarthy scores Earth's barren wasteland in ''Voices In The Earth'' with music both serene, severe, using strings, horn, oboe, piano. Kenneth Wannberg goes for dynamic, rhythmic material with piano, percussion figures getting spotlight during ''Still Life''. Elliot Kaplan scores ''The Last Defender Of Camelot'' with plethora of brass fanfares as Sir Lancelot scrambles about modern-day London, with beautiful melody of English landscapes close at hand. Arthur Kempel gets to imbue nightmare Ray Bradbury tale, ''The Elevator'', with horrific strings, percussion, synths. William Goldstein scores three tales: ''Her Pilgrim Soul'' is haunting and romantic, ''The Card'' is edged and chilling, ''Time And Teresa Golowitz'' is poignant with piano getting center stage. Lukas Kendall, Roger Feigelson supervise entire production, John Takis provides informative liner notes, Joe Sikoryak wraps all in handsome package. Presented from original stereo session mixes vaulted by CBS in pristine condition. Grateful Dead and Merl Saunders compose & perform main theme. Basil Poledouris, Robert Drasnin, Dennis McCarthy, J.A.C. Redford, Craig Safan, Fred Steiner, Elliot Kaplan, Arthur Kempel, William Goldstein conduct. Intrada Special Collection 3-CD Set available while quantities and interest remain!

Track List

Merl Saunders and The Grateful Dead
01. The Twilight Zone ’85 Main Title (0:54)
Christopher Young
02. A Small Talent for War (2:11)
03. A Matter of Minutes (6:36)
Basil Poledouris
04. A Message From Charity (11:42)
05. Monsters! (12:31)
06. Profile in Silver (7:50)
07. Song of the Younger World (13:11)
Kenneth Wannberg
08. Still Life (10:36)
Dennis McCarthy
09. Voices in the Earth (8:40)
Saunders and The Grateful Dead
10. The Twilight Zone ’85 End Title (0:47)
Total CD Time: 75:01

J.A.C. Redford
01. What Are Friends For? (11:27)
Craig Safan
02. Dead Woman’s Shoes (11:11)
03. Wong’s Lost and Found Emporium (8:58)
04. The Uncle Devil Show (4:49)
05. Opening Day (14:30)
06. To See the Invisible Man (12:08)
07. Tooth and Consequences (6:17)
08. Teacher’s Aide (9:36)
Total CD Time: 78:58

Fred Steiner
01. A Day in Beaumont (13:40)
Elliot Kaplan
02. The Last Defender of Camelot (15:30)
Arthur Kempel
03. The Elevator (8:08)
William Goldstein
04. Her Pilgrim Soul (13:48)
05. The Card (7:51)
06. Time and Teresa Golowitz (11:21)
Total Time: 70:04

The Extras
07. How About You? (Time and Teresa Golowitz)
(Ralph Freed and Burton Lane) (1:59)
08. Circe Grove (Opening Day) (4:56)
09. Vampire Vamp (Monsters!) (1:12)
Total Extras Time: 8:05
Total CD Time: 78:12