Price(USD): $31.80

CD No: HWRCD-060
Release Date: 2024/06/11
Format: 1CD

The Jack The Ripper Murders; Sherlock Holmes lifts the veil of secrecy, corruption and terror at the heart of the throne of England itself.

Howlin' Wolf Records proudly presents MURDER BY DECREE by Carl Zittrer and Paul Zaza, the world premiere recording of this classic orchestral score. The 1979 film tells the story of Sherlock Holmes' hunt for Jack The Ripper from the dark streets of Whitechapel to the powerful halls of parliament. Bob Clark directed an esteemed all-star cast including Christopher Plummer as Sherlock Holmes and James Mason as Dr. Watson, and features Genevieve Bujold, Donald Sutherland, David Hemmings, and Sir John Gielgud. The original music was composed by Carl Zittrer (CHILDREN SHOULDN'T PLAY WITH DEAD THINGS, DEATHDREAM, BLACK CHRISTMAS, A CHRISTMAS STORY) and Paul Zaza (PROM NIGHT, MY BLOODY VALENTINE, TURK 182, A CHRISTMAS STORY). This rich symphonic score performed by the London Symphony, conducted by Paul Zaza, is layered with dark moods, rousing action, somber regality, and lush beauty, all wrapped in a fog of Gothic atmosphere. The stereo recordings were preserved over the years by composer Paul Zaza, and this album has been carefully constructed by both composers featuring exclusive music from the sessions not heard in the film. In 1980 Carl Zittrer and Paul Zaza won the Genie Award (Canadian Academy Awards from 1980-2012) for "Best Musical Score" for MURDER BY DECREE.

MURDER BY DECREE features a 28-page booklet showcasing new cover art by Austin Hinderliter (Creepy Carves) with packaging designs by Howlin' Wolf Records' renowned art director Luis Miguel Rojas. Liner notes are written by John Mansell (Movie Music International) and Tim Ayres (Off The Beaten Soundtrack) including a new extended interview with composers Carl Zittrer and Paul Zaza about the score. This is the exclusive world premiere release of what the composers believe is their finest work.

Track List

Running Time: 42:19

1. City of the Dreadful Night (2:45)
2 This Bloody Business of Butchery (3:15)
3 Where is Mary Kelly?(3:02)
4 Ghosts of Whitechapel (3:03)
5 A Bunch of Grapes (3:52)
6 A Sordid Episode (1:50)
7 Secret Friends in High Places (2:39)
8 Murder and the Morning After (2:49)
9 The Black Cab (1:46)
10 Psychic Visions (1:20)
11 They? Who Are They? (2:53)
12 221B Baker Street (2:49)
13 What the Fog Knows (2:52)