Price(USD): $27.00

Label: FSM
Release Date:
Format: 1CD

Now -- finally -- one of the legendary Biblical scores of the 1950s gets a premiere CD release! Limited Edition.

Waxman wrote all-new music for Demetrius' sizable Roman dimension, including a malevolent march for Caligula and a seductive yet ambiguous theme for Messalina (Susan Hayward). The themes for Caligula and Demetrius double as the fanfares and marches associated with the gladiators' arena, and exotic dance cues accompany the film's baccanal sequences. The aforementioned soldier's march for Demetrius is adapted into a powerful 'Gloria in excelsis' for orchestra and choir for the titles.

Demetrius and the Gladiators was one of the earliest CinemaScope recordings at Fox, and time has not been kind to the stereo masters. Although most cues sound marvelous, some damaged passages have been placed at the end of the album (the liner notes identify the chronological sequence). Only three cues were completely lost, and the album also includes the film's surviving temporary music. As a final bonus, the CD includes a five-minute selection from The Egyptian previously released on FSMCD Vol. 4, No. 5, but with a minor synchronization error between orchestra and choir corrected. We regret the mistake (which was identified too late to repress and recall the discs), and hope that fans apperciate having the correct version here.
* Excerpt from Film Score Monthly

Track List

1.Prelude/Night in the Palace 4:15
2. Messalina 0:42
3. Claudius/The Catacombs/The Slave Market/Roman Police 7:06
4. Lucia 0:51
5. Claudius and Messalina 1:00
6. Wait 1:23
7. Egyptian Dancers 3:29
8. Caligula Enters 0:45
9. Gladiator March 2:03
10. After the Fight 1:19
11. Messalina at Home 3:36
12. At the Pottery/The Gladiators' Party 4:23
13. Fanfares 0:56
14. Temple of Isis 2:06
15. Messalina and Demetrius 1:57
16. Return to Faith 4:41
17. The Dungeon/Glycon 1:35
18. Caligula's Death 2:05
19. Gloria 0:46
Total Time: 45:39

Bonus Tracks

20. The Victors 1:19
21. Victory 0:46
22. Caligula and Claudius 1:28
23. Peter's Return 2:27
24. Caligula's Rage 0:53
25. Arena Fanfare 0:19
26. Caligula's Death (unused overlay) 0:20
27. Temporary Fanfares (Alfred Newman) 0:58
28. Temporary Dance Track (Frank Guerrero & Stephen Papich) 2:15
Total Time: 11:06

The Egyptian

29. Hymn to Aton (Alfred Newman) 5:04

Total Disc Time: 61:51