Price(USD): $17.50

CD No: BSXCD-8933
Release Date: 2013/09/17
Format: 1CD

BSX Records presents the soundtrack to HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE, featuring music composed and performed by Alan Howarth for the 2012 horror film directed by David Worth, written by David Oman and Jim Vines, starring James Oliver, Alison Raimondi, Angela Jones, John Dylan Howard, Marco Greco, Ellen Geer, Gizelle D’Cole, Yusuf Gatewood, Paydin LoPachin, Lisa Diane Morgan, Via Osgood, Jessica Szohr and Lance Henriksen.

HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE tells the story of new homeowner David King and his family as they begin to experience what can only be described as paranormal phenomenon in their new home on Cielo Drive. As the ghosts begin to make themselves known on the night of a quiet dinner party with David and his friends, they find themselves lured towards the house at the end of the drive, known to be the setting for a series of gruesome murders 36 years earlier. Once inside the house, supernatural forces from the past transport David and his friends through Time, back to the night of the original killings. In a cruel twist of fate, they materialize as the soon-to-be victims of the massacre they had just been discussing minutes earlier. Is the knowledge of the future enough to shield them from the mayhem from the past?

HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE had its origins with producer David Oman, who had built a house on Cielo Drive in Beverly Hills, California and began living there in 2004 and immediately began to experience paranormal behavior. After doing some research, he discovered that a neighboring property had been built on the remains of the Sharon Tate mansion, site of the infamous Manson Cult murder spree in August 1969. While the original property had been torn down in the late 1990s and a new house had been built on the lot, Oman began to believe that the ghosts of Sharon Tate and the other victims were reaching out to residents in the neighborhood. Collaborating with an old high school friend, he began to pull these elements together for a feature film script and w

When it came time to score HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE, Oman was referred to composer Alan Howarth by David Worth, the director of the film, who had served as director of photography on an earlier project Alan had scored. The story of HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE would offer a composer the opportunity to explore two separate worlds of sound in scoring the film. The present day and the world of 1969. As a child of 1969 and a musician, Howarth embraced the opportunity. The story’s modern era is dominated by threatening musical textures and chilling ambiances that unnerve the viewer as the ghosts of Cielo Drive begin to make themselves known while the scoring for the world of 1969 has more of a rock vibe, with guitars and drums, which included producing a half-dozen 1969-style folk-rock tunes for the project.

Alan Howarth, in addition to being a composer, is an accomplished sound designer and editor, having worked on films such as STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE, POLTERGEIST, TOTAL RECALL, ARMY OF DARKNESS, BRAM STOKER’S DRACULA, STARGATE and many others. He has been a frequent music collaborator with John Carpenter on his films beginning with ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK in 1980 and including HALLOWEEN II & III, CHRISTINE, BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA, THEY LIVE and PRINCE OF DARKNESS and Alan has scored many films on his own, including RETRIBUTION, HALLOWEEN 4 & 5, THE DENTIST, HEADLESS, BOO!, EVILUTION, BASEMENT JACK and most recently, HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE and BRUTAL.

BSX Records presents THE HOUSE AT THE END OF THE DRIVE , featuring music composed and performed by Alan Howarth. The booklet contains liner notes written by noted author Randall Larson, including insights by composer Alan Howarth on the creation of the score for this unique horror film.

Track List

01 House at the End of the Drive 04:24
02 I'll Wait For You 03:2
03 Night Disturbances 03:19
04 Dinner With Friends 03:27
05 Down Below 02:50
06 Like A Woman 04:01
07 Electrical Problems 04:35
08 Repair Man 03:47
09 Garbage Disposal 04:15
10 Lets Go To The House 03:59
11 Funkymen 00:25
12 Time Warp to 1969 02:17
13 Terrence Greene 02:23
14 Battle Plan 03:18t
15 Fight Back 02:34
16 What The Hell 02:28
17 Somebody's Gonna Die 04:25
18 This Can't Be Real 03:24
19 Back to Cielo Drive 02:44
20 Just Another Song 05:20