Price(USD): $18.80

CD No: BSXCD-8842-2
Release Date: 2023/11/03
Format: 1CD

The original soundtrack to SOMETHING THE LORD MADE. The album features music composed for the 2004 HBO drama written by Peter Silverman and Robert Caswell, directed by television veteran Joseph Sargent and starring Alan Rickman, Mos Def, Kyra Sedgwick, Gabrielle Union, Clayton LeBouef, Charles S. Dutton and Mary Stuart Masterson.

SOMETHING THE LORD MADE tells the story of the extraordinary 34 year relationship between heart surgery pioneers Alfred Blalock and Vivien Thomas and their efforts to treat the devastating heart problem of Tetralogy Of Fallot, also known as Blue Baby Syndrome. Beginning in 1930, in Depression Era Nashville, the two men learn to work together against the backdrop of a country that is still racially segregated. Vivien Thomas is hired by Blalock as an assistant in his lab in Vanderbilt University. Expecting Thomas to merely perform the duties of a janitor, Blalock is impressed by his skills as a mechanic and tool-maker and begins to consult with him on his medical procedures. But when fame and fortune come knocking on the door, will Blalock acknowledge his contributions?

Golden Globe-nominated composer Christopher Young has scored nearly 100 films, including films such as HELLRAISER, JENNIFER 8, MURDER IN THE FIRST, COPYCAT, SPECIES, THE HURRICANE, SWORDFISH, THE SHIPPING NEWS, THE HURRICANE, THE CORE, THE GRUDGE, THE EXORCISM OF EMILY ROSE, SPIDER-MAN 3 and, most recently, UNTRACEABLE and SLEEPWALKING. Born in Red Bank, New Jersey, Young graduated from Massachusetts Hampshire College with a BA in music and did post-graduate work at North Texas State University, studying big band writing and classical composition before moving to Los Angeles in 1980. While enrolled at UCLA, he studied with famed film composer David Raksin. In addition to his career as a film composer, he has also taught composition at UCLA.

BSX Records is proud to present SOMETHING THE LORD MADE, featuring original score from the HBO motion picture composed by Christopher Young.
A limited edition release of 1000 units. RE-ISSUE

Track List

1 Something The Lord Made (1:55)
2 Dr. Vivien Thomas (4:04)
3 Class Three (2:46)
4 An Expression Of Faith (2:39)
5 Towards The Great End (3:20)
6 Me Oh My (1:37)
7 Only God Can Fix Hearts (3:00)
8 Vena Cava (3:26)
9 Turning Blue Into Pink (1:44)
10 An Innocent Heart (2:11)
11 Building A Bypass (5:23)
12 The Angel (2:23)
13 What Exactly Is God’s Plan? (4:59)
14 Thanks Be (2:56)