Price(USD): $21.50

Label: DECCA
CD No: B002021302
Release Date: 2014/02/25
Format: 1CD

Critics and fans alike have fallen in love withthe film Philomena as well as itscaptivating score by Alexandre Desplat, which is now nominated for BestOriginal Score at the 2014 Academy Awards. Philomena is an emotional story inspired by true events, tingedwith both tragedy and comedy, about two very different people who join forcesfor a remarkable journey. They areseeking to uncover the truth behind a heart-breaking story that has remained amystery for half a century. LegendaryOscar-winning actress Dame Judi Dench (Skyfall,The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Shakespeare in Love) stars in the titlerole as Philomena Lee alongside one of Britain's leading comics SteveCoogan (The Look of Love) as Martin Sixsmith, with two-time OscarnominatedStephen Frears directing. The film landed in select U.S. theaters on November27, 2013 and is now playing nationwide. Accompanying the film's remarkablestory of Philomena's extraordinary search for her long lost son, is composerAlexandre Desplat's emotionally riveting score which evokes the compellingnarrative of human love and loss that ultimately celebrates life, showing thatthere is laughter even in the darkest places. Desplat's wide usage of instruments gives the film its emotionalresonance with both enchantment and a beautifully touching heart. Desplat's score runs a wide spectrum ofpoignant and dramatic tones, perfectly complimenting the film's touching storyof a quest filled with laughter and joy that is often underpinned bysadness. The original motion score for Philomena marks the latest collaborationbetween Desplat and director Stephen Frears, with Desplat having previouslycreated the score for Frears' 2006 Academy-nominated film The Queen. One of the most sought-after composers in the filmindustry, Paris-born Alexandre Desplat is astonishingly prolific, with almost 150 titles to his credit. He has been Oscar-nominated five times in the pastseven years, for Argo, The King's Speech,Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and The Queen. Other recent credits include Zero Dark Thirty, Renoir, Reality, Rust andBone, Moonrise Kingdom, A Prophet, and ExtremelyLoud & Incredibly Close. His previous collaborations with StephenFrears include The Queen, Tamara Dreweand Cheri. Desplat has also been nominated for aGolden Globe multiple times, having won in 2007 for his score on the film The Painted Veil as well as being afive-time Grammy nominee, having won Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media forThe King's Speech in 2011. Desplat is currently up for two Grammynominations in 2014 for music he composed for the films Argo and Zero Dark Thirty.

Track List

1. Philomena
2. Martin
3. Birth
4. Laundry
5. Adoption
6. Drive To Roscrea
7. Reminiscence
8. Airport
9. Landing In USA
10. Discovering Michael
11. Mary
12. Confession
13. Memories
14. No Thought of Ireland
15. Quiet Time, To Petes
16. Anthonys Story
17. Sister Hildegarde
18. Farewell
19. Fairground Carousel