Price(USD): $73.80

Label: ALEPH
Release Date: 2012/11/06
Format: 4CD

Aleph Records is proud to release Lalo Schifrin: My Life in Music, a four-CD boxed set of music from the legendary composer's career in film, jazz, and classical music. The set features music from three-dozen films, jazz and symphonic pieces composed by Schifrin, and unreleased music from films including Charley Varrick, The Beguiled, Joe Kidd, and Coogan's Bluff. Along with over five hours worth of music, a forty-eight page book is included with archival photos and notes.

This four-disc set spans music from all aspects of Mr. Schifrin's career, from the early beginnings of his film music to the big hits that include Mission Impossible, Dirty Harry, Enter The Dragon, and Bullitt. Also represented is music from his jazz and classical compositions including work commissioned by Dizzy Gillespie, as well as the Grammy-nominated Jazz Meets The Symphony series. His music is a synthesis of traditional and twentieth-century techniques, and his early love for jazz and rhythm are strong attributes of his style. ''Invocations,'' ''Concerto for Double Bass,'' ''Piano Concertos No. 1 and No. 2,'' ''Pulsations,'' ''Tropicos,'' ''La Nouvelle Orleans,'' and ''Resonances'' are examples of this tendency to juxtapose universal thoughts with a kind of elaborated primitivism. In the classical composition field, Schifrin has more than 60 works. Schifrin has written over 100 film and television scores including Mission Impossible, Mannix, Cool Hand Luke, Bullitt, The Cincinnati Kid, Amityville Horror, Enter The Dragon, four of the Dirty Harry films, and more recently Abominable and the Rush Hour trilogy. Lalo Schifrin has now won five GrammysR (twenty-two nominations), one Cable ACE Award, and six Academy AwardR nominations.

Track List


1. Enter The Dragon - Main Title
2. Samba Para Dos -- from Bossa Nova Groove
3. The Fox - Main Title
4. The Eagle Has Landed -- Eagle Falls In Love
5. Rhino -- Transporting Rhino
6. Fast Walking- Main Title
7. Burning Bridges -- from Kelly's Heroes Vocals: The Mike Curb Congregation
8. Invisible City -- from Metamorphosis: Jazz Meets The Symphony No.4
9. Dirty Harry - Main Title
10. The Cincinnati Kid -- New Orleans Procession
11. Caveman - End Title
12. Abominable -- There Is Something Out There
13. Cool Hand Luke - Main Title
14. Telefon - Main Title
15. The Dead Pool -- The Pier, The Bridge, and The City
16. Love Poem For Donna -- from Ins and Outs
17. Charley Varrick -- Bank Robbery -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
18. Bullitt - Main Title
19. Coogan's Bluff - Main Title -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
20. Rush Hour - End Title


1. Joe Kidd - Main Title -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
2. Cool Hand Luke -- Tar Sequence
3. The Osterman Weekend -- The Face of Love
4. Rollercoaster -- Calliope Of Death
5. Kelly's Heroes -- All For The Love Of Sunshine
6. The Venetian Affair -- Venice After Dark
7. Dirty Harry -- Scorpio's View
8. The Statue Of Liberty March -- from Those Fabulous Hollywood Marches
9. Brubaker -- Theme From Brubaker
10. The Cincinnati Kid -- Instrumental Version (Lalo Schifrin, piano)
11. Something to Believe In -- The Miracle
12. The Beguiled -- Amputation Aftermath
13. Che -- Che!
14. El Dorado -- from Firebird: Jazz Meets The Symphony No.3
15. Sudden Impact - Main Title
16. The Wrath Of God -- Pablito / Guitarra / Padre Van Horne
17. Magnum Force -- Magnum Force
18. The Amityville Horror - Main Title
19. Coogan's Bluff -- Take Me to Ringerman -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
20. Return Of The Marquis de Sade -- Justine
21. Mission: Impossible -- The Plot


1. The Cincinnati Kid - Vocals: Ray Charles
2. Cool Hand Luke -- Arletta Blues
3. Les Felins - Main Title
4. The Fourth Protocol - Main Title
5. Spooks -- The Forces Of Darkness
6. The Beguilded -- Finding McB -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
7. Mannix -- Theme from Mannix
8. Bulitt -- Ice Pick Mike
9. Return Of The Marquis de Sade Bach to the Blues
10. Magnum Force - Main Title
11. Tango del Atardecer -- from Letters from Argentina
12. Joe Kidd -- Chama -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
13. Rollercoaster -- Movement From String Quartette
14. Summer Dance -- from Invocations: Jazz Meets The Symphony No.7
15. Don Quixote -- My Lord Don Quixote / End Title
16. Rage - Main Title -- PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
17. Let Us Leave Some Songs -- from Cantos Aztecas
18. La Pelle -- Tema D'Amore
19. Charley Varrick -- Last Of The Independents - PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
20. Sudden Impact -- Robbery Suspect
21. Rush Hour - Main Title


1. Concorde: Airport 79 -- Suite
2. Paraphrase -- from Kaleidoscope: Jazz Meets The Symphony No.6
3. Panamericana -- from Gillespiana
4. Once a Thief -- from Jazz Goes To Hollywood
5. Resonances -- from Esperanto
6. Montuno -- from Latin Jazz Suite
7. People Alone - The Competition -- from Jazz Goes to Hollywood
8. Intersections -- from Intersections: Jazz Meets The Symphony No.5
9. Agnus Dei -- from Jazz Mass
10. Toccata -- from Gillespiana
11. Mission: Impossible -- from Jazz Goes to Hollywood