2. RIO 2 (Score)

RIO 2 (Score)

Price(USD): $18.80

CD No: 88843048452
Release Date: 2014/04/08
Format: 1CD

Sony Music announces the release of John Powell's Original Motion Picture Score Soundtrack of RIO 2 on April 8, a computer-animated adventure and comedy featuring new music by John Powell. The movie, directed by Carlos Saldanha, and stars Anne Hathaway, Jesse Eisenberg, will.i.am, Jemaine Clement, Tracy Morgan, George Lopez, Leslie Mann, Rodrigo Santoro, and Jamie Foxx, plus Andy Garcia, Rita Moreno and Kristin Chenoweth .

John Powell was catapulted into the realm of A-list composers by displaying an entirely original voice with his oft-referenced scores to the Matt Damon/Bourne film trilogy. He has become the go-to writer for family animated films, scoring such hits as Shrek, Chicken Run, Ice Age: The Meltdown, Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, Bolt, Rio, Happy Feet, Happy Feet 2, Kung Fu Panda, Kung Fu Panda 2, Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax and Ice Age: Continental Drift. His pulsating action music has provided the fuel for Hancock, Green Zone, Stop Loss, Mr. and Mrs. Smith and The Italian Job. Powell’s music has also sweetened the romance of Two Weeks Notice and P.S. I Love You, empowered X-Men: The Last Stand, lent tenderness to I Am Sam and gripping drama to United 93. Powell’s infectious score for How to Train Your Dragon earned him his first Academy AwardR nomination and was nominated for a GrammyR in 2008 for his work on Happy Feet.

The association with Rio de Janeiro makes the film highly topical ahead of the 2014 football World Cup, and the score of RIO 2 closely involves local artists: UAKTI, an instrumental group; Milton Nascimento, a well-known Brazilian singer-songwriter and guitarist; the singer Carlinhos Brown, whose musical style blends tropicalia, reggae and traditional Brazilian percussion; and the Barbatuques, leading exponents of body percussion, who make organic music using the body as an instrument. The Barbatuques performed at the special Fifa event for the official announcement of the logo of the 2014 World Cup.

Release date of April 8th.

Track List

1. 20th Century Fox Fanfare (RIO 2 samba version)
2. Batucada Pagode featuring Carlinhos Brown
3. Over the Falls featuring Milton Nascimento
4. Breakfast in Rio
5. Fireworks on the Roof featuring UAKTI
6. Traveling Family
7. Sideshow Freaks featuring UAKTI
8. Stalking the Ferry
9. River Boat to the Loggers featuring Carlinhos Brown and UAKTI
10. Escorted to the Clan featuring UAKTI and Barbatuques
11. Up Carla’s Monkey featuring UAKTI
12. Spider Invite featuring UAKTI and Barbatuques
13. Humans Are Longer Than They Told Me featuring UAKTI
14. Tongue-a-pult to Blu’s Nightmare!
15. Red Bullies featuring Uakti
16. Tantrums Lead to Explosions featuring UAKTI
17. Lollipops Are Bad for Your Teeth featuring Milton Nascimento, UAKTI, and Barbatuques
18. Battle for the Heart of the Forest featuring UAKTI and Barbatuques
19. Romeo and Juliet’s Unfortunate Demise featuring UAKTI and Barbatuques