2. A SYMPHONY OF BRITISH MUSIC: Music For The Closing Ceremony Of The London 2012 Olympic Games (2CD)

A SYMPHONY OF BRITISH MUSIC: Music For The Closing Ceremony Of The London 2012 Olympic Games (2CD)

Price(USD): $21.80

CD No: 534-0326
Release Date: 2012/08/12
Format: 2CD

'Isles Of Wonder'' is a stellar collection of music featured in the stunning Danny Boyle-directed opening ceremony of the London Olympics. The songs chosen cut through a wide spectrum of British music with some previously released material (Pet Shop Boys' ''West End Girls'', Dizzee rascal's ''Bonkers'', Emile Sande's ''Heaven'', Arctic Monkeys' ''I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor'' - to mention a few), alongside choral pieces (''Jerusalem / Flower Of Scotland / Danny Boy / Bread Of heaven'' by Four Nations Choirs), theatrical instrumentals (''Nimrod'' by LSO On Track, ''And I Will Kiss'' by Underworld, of course ''Chariots Of Fire'' by The London Philharmonic Orchestra, ''Tubular Bells / In Dulci Jubilo'' by Mike Oldfield - the latter a multi-part piece incorporating Pop, Jazz, and Electronica), Bollywood Pop (''Nimma Nimma Nimma'' by A.R. Rahman), Hip Hop (''Traktor'' by wretch 32), Dance music (the Underworld and Chemical Brothers songs), and classic Rock (Heroes'' by David Bowie, and ''I Still Believe'' by Frank Turner).

The songs are well chosen and each sparkles on its own. Emile Sande's lovely Drum & Bass ''Heaven'' is featured as is her haunting take on the hymn ''Abide With Me'', the latter performed after a video montage paid tribute to spectators' deceased loved ones, among them Danny Boyle's late father. Arctic Monkeys cover The Beatles ''Come Together''. Underworld wrote the chiming Folky ''Caliban's Dream'' specially for the event, performed as young athletes carried the Olympic Flame around the stadium. ''Reach'' by High Contrast sounds like an instrumental of Madonna's ''Celebration'', and is followed by ''Ghost Dance'', another catchy Dance instrumental. They perform 5 songs in total.

Track List

01. Urban Voices Collective - Because (00:38)
02. Julian Lloyd Webber, London Symphony Orchestra & STOMP - Salut D'Amour (feat. Timothy Spall) (02:57)
03. Madness - Our House (Re-Recorded) (02:29)
04. Massed Bands of the Household Division - Parklife (Excerpt) (01:14)
05. Pet Shop Boys - West End Girls (02:14)
06. Ray Davies, London Symphony Orchestra & Urban Voices Collective - Waterloo Sunset (03:22)
07. Emeli Sande - Read All About It (05:56)
08. David Arnold - Parade of the Athletes (04:11)
09. Elbow, London Symphony Orchestra & Urban Voices Collective - Open Arms (04:47)
10. Elbow, London Symphony Orchestra & Urban Voices Collective - One Day Like This (06:44)
11. Kate Bush - Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God Remix) (05:32)
12. Urban Voices Collective, Pete Lockett, Rahda Meta, Prabhat Rao, Varun Verma, Toby Pitman, David Arnold, Bilwal Iyer, Eos Chater, Tania Davis, Elspeth Hanson & Gay-Yee Westerhoff - Here Comes the Sun (02:36)
13. David Arnold - Medal Ceremony (02:29)
14. Queen - Bohemian Rhapsody (Excerpt) (00:51)

01. John Lennon & Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir - Imagine (04:25)
02. George Michael - White Light (04:44)
03. Kaiser Chiefs - Pinball Wizard (03:02)
04. David Bowie - Fashion (03:33)
05. Annie Lennox - Little Bird (05:52)
06. Ed Sheeran, Richard Jones, Nick Mason, Mike Rutherford & David Arnold - Wish You Were Here (03:31)
07. Russell Brand & London Symphony Orchestra - Pure Imagination (00:58)
08. Russell Brand & Bond - I Am the Walrus (04:13)
09. Fatboy Slim - Right Here, Right Now (Excerpt) (01:28)
10. Fatboy Slim - The Rockafeller Skank (Excerpt) (01:45)
11. Jessie J, Tinie Tempah & Taio Cruz - Price Tag / Written In the Stars / Dynamite (05:07)
12. Bee Gees - You Should Be Dancing (feat. Jessie J, Tinie Tempah, Taio Cruz) (02:02)
13. Spice Girls - Wannabe / Spice Up Your Life (03:34)
14. Eric Idle - Always Look On the Bright Side of Life (04:38)
15. Muse - Survival (04:17)
16. Queen - Queen Medley: Day-O / Brighton Rock (01:48)
17. Queen - We Will Rock You (feat. Jessie J) (02:41)
18. The London Welsh Male Voice Choir, The London Welsh Rugby Choir & London Symphony Orchestra - Olympic Anthem (02:48)
19. London Symphony Orchestra - Extinguishing the Flame (00:58)
20. Take That - Rule the World (04:14)
21. David Arnold - Spirit of the Flame (04:26)
22. The Who - Baba O'Riley (Edited Version) (02:44)
23. The Who - See Me, Feel Me (Edited Version) (02:38)
24. The Who - My Generation (Excerpt) (01:37)