2. James Horner: COLLAGE - THE LAST WORK


Price(USD): $18.30

CD No: 4812810
Release Date: 2016/09/23
Format: 1CD

n June 2015 we said goodbye to one of the most successful and admired composers of film soundtracks in Hollywood, James Horner.
He wrote scores for more than 100 films, and his sizable list of awards included two Oscars, two Golden Globes & 6 Grammy awards. He achieved the largest selling soundtrack album in history with Titanic. AND NOW…MERCURY CLASSICS PRESENTS HIS FINAL WORK COMPOSED FOR THE CONCERT STAGE.

Collage is the last finished work by Oscar-winning composer James Horner, premiered and recorded under his personal supervision just weeks before his tragic accident in June 2015.

It is a piece for four horns and big orchestra, featuring Horners signature lush orchestrations and wide ranging melodic lines. Its recorded by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Jaime Martin.

Collage is combined with two further world premiere recordings (Kitty Hawk and Conquest of the Air) recording by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic with David Arnold conducting.

This album is combined with new recordings of some of his most beloved film music (including Aliens, Legend of the Fall, Iris & Wolf Totem)

The recording features Norwegian siblings Mari and Hakon Samuelsen, who had worked with James over years on his double concerto Pas de Deux, as well as two further world premiere recordings.

Release Date: 2016/9/23

Track List

1. Conquest of the Air from First in Flight
2. The Ludlows from Legends of the Fall
3. Jose s Martyrdom from For Greater Glory
4. Kitty Hawk from First in Flight
5. Little Wolf from Wolf Totem
6. Return to The Wild from Wolf Totem
7. Iris: Part 1 from Iris
8. Aliens - Suite No. 1: Main Title & Ripley's Rescue from Aliens
9. Collage: Part I
10. Collage: Part II
11. Collage: Part III
12. Collage: Part IV
13. Collage: Part V
14. Collage: Part VI