2. THE GLADIATOR (Special Anniversary Edition) (2CD)

THE GLADIATOR (Special Anniversary Edition) (2CD)

Price(USD): $24.80

Label: DECCA
CD No: 476-5223
Release Date: 2020/07/31
Format: 2CD

The combination of the prolific Hans Zimmer and Lisa Gerrard is an ingenious one. He's set lush musical backgrounds to everything from comedies (I'll Do Anything) to period pieces (Driving Miss Daisy) to blockbuster war flicks (The Thin Red Line); she's one of the duo comprising Dead Can Dance, perhaps the most singular popularizers of ancient music of the '80s and '90s. Zimmer and Gerrard contribute a thrilling, boisterous score. These stirring, magnificent pieces are vital to such epics as Gladiator, which depend on them to rouse audiences into fits of passion, to suck them into the action, to involve them in every bloody battle, to bask in the hero's triumphs, to gasp at his possible defeat. The music in Gladiator expertly evokes an ancient time with a mixture of majestic, classical themes, and folk music of the ages. Fans of the movie will revel in reliving the grandeur of this powerful cinematic production.

Track List

Disc 1
1. Progeny
2. The Wheat
3. The Battle
4. Earth
5. Sorrow
6. To Zuccabar
7. Patricide
8. The Emperor Is Dead
9. The Might of Rome
10. Strength and Honor
11. Reunion
12. Slaves to Rome
13. Barbarian Horde
14. Am I Not Merciful?
15. Elysium
16. Honor Him
17. Now We Are Free - Gerrard, Lisa

Disc 2
1. Duduk of the North
2. Now We Are Free
3. The Protector of Rome
4. Homecoming
5. The General Who Became a Slave
6. The Slave Who Became a Gladiator
7. Secrets
8. Rome Is the Light
9. All That Remains
10. Maximus
11. Marikesh Marketplace
12. The Gladiator Waltz
13. Figurines
14. The Mob
15. Busy Little Bee
16. Death Smiles at All of Us
17. Not Yet
18. Now We Are Free